Amazing…

Once again I am reminded at how awesome the human body is.  Last week I started carb cycling to lose weight and get back in shape.  Along with this I would get up every morning at 5:25 in order to get a 9 minute workout before having to wake my daughter up for school.  Every day was a different set of three exercises and a different way to do them.  One day I was supposed to do 20 seconds with a 10 second rest for 6 rounds making it 3 minutes total.  The first 3 minutes I did triangle push ups.  The next 3 minutes I did backward lunges and the last three minutes I did marching soldiers.

I hate lunges.  I actually used to avoid them like the plague.  Part of that attitude was because my grandmother told me that she used to do them when she was younger and was pretty sure that they had ruined her knees.  So learning this in my teen years I stopped doing them.  Through the years I have started doing them again since they are a good form of exercise but I still hate them.  Anyway, I was able to do 18 sets in the three minutes.  Then when I went to wake my daughter up I almost fell down the stairs.  My legs were cooked.

Each day as I did the exercises I would get more and more sore.  It was to the point that by Friday I was in pain.  It hurt to use my muscles and it hurt to touch my muscles.

Saturday and Sunday I didn’t need to do those exercises and Friday I had went walking in hopes to help loosen up some stiff muscles.  Saturday morning I had my bike ride and I was amazed at how well I felt.  Although still sore I wasn’t as sore as I was Friday.  My ride was wonderful.  Saturday was busy and I noticed that throughout the day I wasn’t very sore.  Sunday was even better with no soreness.

Then Monday morning my exercises consisted of three exercises and one was again the backward lunges with the same time set up.  I was up to 22 sets in 3 minutes and I didn’t almost fall down the stairs or feel sore in the slightest.

I am feeling better, losing weight and getting healthier one day at a time.

Leave a comment